Home » Uncategorized » Help stop cough medicine abuse

Help stop cough medicine abuse

Share this Blog

Bookmark and Share

I have to admit, I didn’t really think abuse of cough medicine was this big a problem now, especially since so much of it is behind the counter now instead of OTC.

Becky’s letter says it best, so I’ve  re-posted her email in it’s entirety.

_____________________

Hi Rebecca,

My name is Becky Dyer. As a school resource officer and former D.A.R.E. officer, I am proud to have been part of the Five Moms campaign to stop cough medicine abuse for the past three years.

Every day, I am out in my community working to prevent substance abuse. When I first heard about the Five Moms campaign, I was inspired to raise awareness about this problem among teenagers. Cough medicine abuse is something people don’t really know about or ever think would be a problem and I want the parents, caregivers and educators I talk to, to know about it so they can prevent it from happening.

 

To celebrate the three year anniversary of this program, and all of the hard work of our supporters, I recorded a video to share my story. In my video, I encourage parents to educate themselves about cough medicine abuse, talk with their kids about the issue, and get involved in their communities.

 

I am asking you to help me spread the word about the dangers of medicine abuse among your readers. One easy way to do this is by posting my video on your blog and linking to StopMedicineAbuse.org, the home of the Five Moms campaign and a website where parents can find important information and resources about medicine abuse and how to prevent it.

 

Enjoy the video and let me know what you think. It’s already on YouTube, so it is easy to share with your readers, neighbors, and friends!

Sincerely,

Becky Dyer

2 Comments

  1. From the failed DARE organization. Cough, cough, cough. Gosh, if there’s even a cough of a problem, we of course need more nanny state to solve it. Government is so good at solving every one of life’s problems.

    Right? It’s not that the problem isn’t legit, it’s that government as the solution is a non-starter. If I’m wrong, explain how gover

  2. PositiveLeo says:

    I would rather have this medicine BEHIND the counter with all of the ingredients intact than OTC and watered down like sugar water. But apparently the whole should be “punished” because of a few.

Leave a Reply

